Welsh Rarebit and Bells Porter

Imagine a snowy Saturday Morning. It’s the weekend so you don’t have to go to work. You light a fire in your fireplace, break out your camp oven, and set it in the hearth. You make a roue, then through in some heavy cream and porter. Then you slowly melt some fine aged cheddar. You take this  and pour it over some rye toast that you toasted over the fire, and pair it with the same beer you used in the recipe and you have yourself a fine wintery morning indeed.

Of course it is Autumn, and a rather warm day at that. I also don’t have a fireplace or a camp oven (even though it is on my wishlist). I used my heaviest saucepan instead of a camp oven and put it on low heat on my stove top  Doing this gave me Welsh Rarebit. A dish I have only heard of from Alton Brown’s  Good Eats, but a dish that I think more people should try.

The Bell’s Porter has an intense coffee and espresso flavor. It lends a bit of this to the rarebit, although mostly it is a creamy, savory, cheesy taste. The rye is a dark German rye which compliments the savory cheddar flavor immensely. Rye lends a great pepper flavor, and pepper is just so ambiguous with savory flavors. I’m not saying it boring, I’m saying that there is a reason that every steak in America is cooked with at least salt and pepper.

The porter is a decently bitter beer as well, and it helps cut the relative creamy nature of the rarebit. I ended up having it for dinner, but it is really heavy as the sole portion of the meal, and probably should just be a side as it is originally intended. Or of course a great breakfast to keep up your strength on a cold winter’s morn.

Leave a Reply

