Beer is Healthy

Beer is healthy. That’s right, I said it. Are you telling me that it isn’t good for you? That it will make you fat? Oh, sure pounding back 6 beers a night probably will kill you in a matter of decades, and  if you are drunk all the time, every day events become a game of Russian Roulette. And sure, drinking liquid calories is a really easy way to increase weight if not careful, but I did not say being an alcoholic was healthy, I said beer is healthy.

Recently I have decided to eliminate as many processed food as possible. When I say processed food, I mean “complete” meals that come in boxes, or have ingredients that you can’t pronounce. I don’t mean things like cheese, tofu, or especially beer which also could be considered processed, but in an older fashion. It’s not that I’m a Luddite and hate modern things. I believe that one day science will understand nutrition so completely that eating will be a separate activity than giving  your body nutrients, largely in the same way sex is now separate from having babies. The problem is that it seems clear that modern processed food isn’t healthy. Eating  it seems to lead to increased rates of heart disease, diabetes, and cancer.

On the basic level, beer has natural ingredients and is made by a natural process. It’s not as easy to make a wine, which can simply make itself if you have enough weight on the grapes to crush the juice out, and let the natural yeast on the skin do its job. Nevertheless, the processes involved could all be reproduced in nature.

Beer is also made from whole ingredients. You have the wonderful benefits of whole barley, and on occasion, whole wheat, rye and oats. It is much healthier for you than bread made from highly refined flours. Now of course its more like a tea made from the grains than the grains themselves so there is some nutrient left, but of course you can use spent grains in all sorts of food. You’d also be surprised how hard it is to find bread that has strange and unpronounceable ingredients. Maybe one of you knows the reason, but I don’t understand the purpose of the monogycerides and triticales, in addition to the ubiquitous corn and soy in the The Brownberry 12 grain bread. A twelve grain bread should  have flour, water, yeast, salt and 12 different whole grains.

In addition to my opinions on the healthiness of natural food, studies do seem to show that alcohol is heart healthy. Up to 5 drinks a day could be good for your heart. Although, if you do drink that much you are risking increased chances of cancer and accidents. So drink no more than 2 glasses of beer if male and 1 glass if female and live forever.

5 thoughts on “Beer is Healthy

  1. I’ve become very passionate about this issue. Everyone seems to be looking for the easy way. The diet industry is ridiculous. If people ate real food from real ingredients, while respecting where those ingredients are coming from I believe we would have an immensely healthier society with a real food culture. And like most things in life balance and moderation are key.

  2. It was the book “Defense of Food: An Eater’s Manifesto” that was my downfall. I suppose I shouldn’t say downfall as I think I am eating a lot healthier now, but it is harder to do as most convenient foods are highly processed. In fact I just finished making my own granola bars because I’m not a big fan of the ingredients on a lot of the store bought ones (and these are way cheaper by the way). Its a lot easier if you like to cook your own food as you will be the one that knows what each and every ingredient is instead of some company or unknown chef.

    You are right, the diet industry seams only to focus on saturated fat, calories, carbs, and sodium even though that is really only part of the story, and the ingredients they add to make up for lack of one of these aren’t necessarily healthy for you at all in the long run.

    I also end up eating a lot less meat, which saves a bunch of money and forces me to greatly diversify my non-meat foods. It’s actually been pretty great for my taste buds.

  3. Pingback: Beer is Healthy Part 2 | Helper Monkey Brews

  4. Pingback: Beer is Healthy Part 3 | Helper Monkey Brews

  5. Pingback: Guinness Foreign Extra Stout and Veggie Soup | Helper Monkey Brews

Leave a Reply

