The Little Imp’s Pale Ale

Take a look at this picture. I’m really moving up in the world of brewing, at least in terms of equipment. Santa Claus and the birthday version of Santa Claus (every once in a while being a Christmas Baby pays off) got me a fancy smancy Blichman Propane Burner. CostCo gave me a propane tank (after I gave them money). And I became a registered Professional Engineer in the state of Illinois, and I used part of the company bonus to buy a Spike Brewing 15 gallon stainless steel brew kettle (the rest goes to the Wedding).

Last weekend I brewed my first full-scale partial mash batch. If I get a big enough mesh bag, next time I will brew my first BIAB all grain batch. One day I might even do the complete traditional all grain.

It has been a little while since my last brew, and I’ve been having the itch, so I hit the local homebrew shop on Saturday to get the ingredients for my first Belgian Pale Ale (so many firsts).

There are a few differences between Belgian Pale Ales and the English and American Versions. I used Pilsner Malt extract instead of extract made from regular 2-row. I used Czech Saaz for the aroma additions instead of a British or an American Hop. These differences are important, but the real star of the show is the Belgian yeast used. If you used your regular brew pub yeast, all you are making is an ale version of a Pilsner. The Wyeast 1214 Belgian Abbey Ale supposedly comes from the Chimay Brewery, monk makers of world glass Chimay line of Beers. It will produce cloves and other esters, and have a delicious spicy note.

Ingredients
7 lbs of Pilsner Based Extra Light DME
1/2 lb of Munich Malt
3/4 lb of CaraMunich Malt
0.8 oz East Kent Golding at 60 Minutes
0.5 oz Saaz at 40 Minutes
0.5 oz Saaz at 15 Minutes

I also used my electrical skills to wire up a my old college fridge to use as a temperature fermentation chamber. I bought an STC-1000 temperature controller. It is about 100 bucks cheaper than a Johnson Controls temperature controller. Of course, those 100 bucks do buy you a plug and play ability and a display in Fahrenheit. That is nothing that some wires, electrical tape, and Google’s ability to convert Fahrenheit to Celsius can’t fix. After the first test batch I’ll solder the connection and throw some heat shrink on it to make a more solid commercial.

6 thoughts on “The Little Imp’s Pale Ale

  1. One day, I’ll be able to upgrade. For now, I’m thinking of doing an all grain, but that would be using my big rectangular cook-out coolers, instead of the cool cylindrical orange ones I want.

    Ah well. Truth be told, I’m not likely to get any brewing at all done until the fall, unless it’s a cheap cider or something like that.

  2. It’s really the setting up of coolers that is keeping me from doing all-grain, and possibly my mind telling me how much more work it will be. Plus a BIAB bag is cheaper than a cooler, and the false bottom/braid parts.

  3. The difference of moving from partial mash to all mash is nearly as great as moving from all extract to partial mash.

    Brew in a bag (BIAB) is a great way to move into all grain. It will give you an added dimension in your brewing control. Your first attempts at BIAB may not be 100% successes. If you’re under the desired specific gravity you can bump it with some extract. The mesh bags are pretty inexpensive. Drain your wort into some buckets and use the same kettle to brew in.

    You’ll be glad you made the change, I think.

Leave a Reply

